why are software engineers paid so much reddit

Oh god please no, I already do tech work. Why do software engineers change jobs so frequently? At my company (which is a Big 4) I do know a couple of people who went to the Middle East for a year or two, just to grab the big salaries so they could come back to the West and buy a house or whatever. If you have had no internships throughout your schooling for whatever reason you're at a real disadvantage. Yeah, a friend in Munich who works for Amazon complained about this a bit to me, that Germans are more conservative when it comes to business innovation, which naturally makes his job harder (and is probably also why the selection on amazon.de feels several years behind amazon.com). Housing is considered affordable at 24-30% of a person's annual income. If I worked as a GP I could get paid as much as £104,000 a year. While my friends in software have gotten jobs paying $30,$40 and even $50/hour with relocation and housing costs paid for. I'm in environmental engineering and don't earn nearly as much as my friends doing software engineering at my University. An extreme outlier. Press J to jump to the feed. So an MD doesnt start earning money until 11 to 15 years after high school. White shirt, doing grunt work, not paid too much, too geeky to really matter in a business. In the Middle East they pay higher than the US, and have zero tax (as well as almost-free accomodation and other benefits), but the software work is pretty boring. Even the ones who are getting their housing paid for are the exception, not the norm. What annoys myself is how high expectations are for new graduates. Almost better than every other place. Cookies help us deliver our Services. Those are the reasons I have anyway. As you can see, the 'selection' gets smaller and smaller. And so, the salary gets higher and higher. I’m glad we didn’t stop with jQuery and say, you know, that’s good enough. I think it is just starting to change if you go in the t